Making Small Changes

I have been feeling a bit unhappy for quite a long time now. Having had a whole lot of setbacks, I never wanted to stop doing what I’m doing. But doing too many things is exhausting and I got to the point where I can’t go on, so I had to change something. I’m a full-time English Language & Literature student, and next to that, I play volleyball 1-3 times a week, work approximately 8 hours each week, and have my driving lessons, which take up another 2 hours of my week. It has been taking the lot of me, and I haven’t even mentioned the 10 hours of traveling. These are the changes that I’m currently making:

1. Quit my job

My job takes up whole Saturdays, and I need that time to study, thus the wish to quit was there. I have to work one more shift before I leave, and although I didn’t really enjoy it, it was surprisingly hard to make the decision to quit. It did provide me money, but money isn’t everything. The amount of money that I currently make is relatively low, and when the time comes I will eventually apply for a job again, so it’s not the end of the world.

2. Moving out

Ever since I started studying at uni, I had the wish to move out. However, I still really enjoy being home, I play volleyball at my local club, and I work in my hometown. Therefore, my plan was to move out at the end of the year, around April/May. The time has thus come, and I still cannot believe it’s getting real! On the one hand, I’m really excited, but on the other hand, I feel guilty for leaving home. It is a step further to independence, and I should be capable of taking care of myself.

3. Eat healthier

This has been my New Year’s revolution for years, but still isn’t working out well. Eating healthier doesn’t mean I want to lose weight, it purely means that I want to replace ‘bad’ food by healthy food. I am eating more and more fruit, less and less meat, and I abandoned fizzy drinks, crisps, and other bad stuff, so there is a starting point. I am in doubt about going vegan; I appreciate the idea, but I like my ‘bad’ food too much to give up. However, the future may bring unexpected turns, so who knows what I’ll be eating in a year or so?

4. Do more of what makes me happy

The photo above was taken on a bike ride during the summer last year. It is one of my favourite places as it is very peaceful out there and I like nature. Taking bike rides is one of the things that I like to do to get my mind off of things, just like playing volleyball. I wouldn’t want to miss it, and it keeps me fit, which is another reason why I do it. Other things that make me happy include hanging out with my best friends. Although I’m introverted, I need to have social interaction every now and again. Reading books is another thing that I really like to do but haven’t got time for at the moment. I have plenty of books on my shelves that are still to be read and a whole lot that I want to get. So many books, so little time.

5. Study hard to pass the first year

I’m a bit behind schedule of getting study points. I received a letter that I’m in a danger-zone. If I don’t get 45 points out of 60 at the end of the year, I have to quit the programme, which is the last thing I want to do because I really enjoy it, even though I don’t like debating and essay-writing. This is still troublesome, as I’m currently writing this blog post instead of preparing for my resits and other exams. Realising this just now, it is probably better to finish this and resume revising Middle English literature.

One thought on “Making Small Changes

  1. All great ideas. Do more of what makes you happy – this is a quote that I’ve got hanging up in my office wall. The best part of all of this is that you are actively making changes which is the best place to start! I spent a lot of my year last year really unhappy and depressed, but I had to force myself to identify things I could change and things I couldn’t, and try to make the changes where I could.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

